England players Gareth Widdop, James Graham and Thomas Burgess have been named in a World All Stars side that will play against an Indigenous All Stars team at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane on Saturday February 13 2016.

This is the first time a World All Stars team has been formed in Australia to take part in this competition – the move follows a review of the annual All Stars match, which has been part of the Rugby League calendar since 2010.

World All Stars coach Wayne Bennet had to select a minimum of four players each from Australia, New Zealand and England, while the remaining players were made up from other nations – Fiji, Samoa, Tonga, PNG and France (if available).

The fourth English player to join Widdop, Graham and Burgess in the squad is Sam Burgess (subject to finalising NRL contracts before the match is played). Signed to South Sydney Rabbitohs in November from Bath RU, this will be Burgess’ first game back in Rugby League since the Rabbitohs’ Grand Final win in 2014.

England and St George-Illawarra Dragons stand-off Widdop scored a total of 226 points in 2015 (182 for the Dragons; 44 for England). High-quality performances throughout the year ensured first team appearances for club and country, retaining the Red V Members Player of the Year award for the second year running and selection in Bennet’s All Star side.

Burgess and Graham’s non-stop work-rate in attack and defence in the NRL and against the Kiwis will have caught the coach’s eye as he looks to add some real firepower to a pack that also includes Paul Gallen, Simon Mannering and Wales international Tyson Frizell.

“The extended option to pick a World All Stars team means our fans will get the chance to see two high quality teams in the 2016 event,” said Bennet.

“It is a new challenge for these guys to be playing alongside each other rather than against and one that I am sure they will relish.”

World All Stars

1 Roger Tuivasa-Sheck
2 Semi Radradra
3 Jarrod Croker
4 Josh Morris
5 Antonio Winterstein
6 Gareth Widdop
7 Trent Hodkinson
8 James Graham
9 Cameron Smith (c)
10 Paul Gallen
11 Tyson Frizell
12 Simon Mannering
13 Sam Burgess
14 Thomas Burgess
15 Kane Evans
16 Robbie Farah
17 Lachlan Maranta
18 Nene McDonald
19 Trent Merrin
20 Martin Taupau
Coach: Wayne Bennett

Indigenous All Stars

1 Greg Inglis
2 Alex Johnston
3 Will Chambers
4 Blake Ferguson
5 Dane Gagai
6 Ben Barba
7 Johnathan Thurston (c)
8 Ryan James
9 Nathan Peats
10 Sam Thaiday
11 Greg Bird
12 Joel Thompson
13 Chris Grevsmuhl
14 Andrew Fifita
15 Wade Graham
16 Tyrone Peachey
17 James Roberts
18 Tyrone Roberts
19 Ray Thompson
20 Jack Wighton
Coach: Laurie Daley