Super League will feature 12 teams from the 2015 season after Rugby League’s elite clubs agreed to a key change to the structure of their competition.

At their Annual General Meeting in Bradford, the Super League clubs ruled out the option of reducing from 14 teams to 10 in 2015 and asked the RFL Executive to investigate two options around a 12-team competition. One option involves a 12-team Super League running in tandem with a 12-team Championship which after 23 rounds split into three qualifying play-off groups, each comprising eight clubs. The other option is for two divisions of 12 with a more traditional style of promotion and relegation between the two competitions.Super League

The debate forms part of the consultation process around the RFL’s ongoing Policy Review, one aim of which is to determine a league structure that is viable, commercially appealing and attractive to the public, broadcasters and sponsors alike.

Super League Chief Executive Nigel Wood said: “The clubs engaged in a robust and frank debate about the future of their competition and gave their full support to the RFL Executive in our search for the most compelling league structure.

“It’s apparent that there is a strong and widespread desire to deliver a really exciting league season that provides well-run clubs at all levels of the game with opportunities to flourish, succeed and make progress.

“Our task now is to drill down into the details of a range of issues such as minimum standards, financial distributions and the various mechanics around promotion and relegation.”

The Super League clubs rejected the option of remaining as a 14-team competition at a meeting last month and will convene in the coming weeks once the RFL Executive has delivered its report into the 12-team Super League options.

The State of Mind of players, fans and communities will be affected positively or negatively by the options being put forward and we will watch events unfold with interest.