Albert Goldthorpe and Shaun Edwards OBE will become the latest members of the Rugby League Hall of Fame when they are inducted into the sport’s exclusive club this evening.

Hunslet legend Goldthorpe and former Wigan and Great Britain star Edwards will both be formally inducted into the Hall of Fame at a celebratory dinner in association with Rugby League Cares in Manchester tonight.

In a playing career spanning over 20 years, Goldthorpe made his debut for Hunslet at the age of 16 in 1888 before retiring in 1910 having scored over 1500 points in 659 games.

In the 1907-08 season, Goldthorpe led the Hunslet side that scooped all four domestic trophies at the time – the Yorkshire Cup, the Yorkshire League Trophy, the Challenge Cup and the Championship Trophy.

Like Goldthorpe, Edwards enjoyed a trophy-laden career with his hometown club Wigan – winning the Challenge Cup for eight consecutive years as well three World Club Championships, eight Championship titles and the Man of Steel award in 1990.

The half-back, who represented Great Britain 36 times, amassed over 450 appearances for Wigan, registering 1146 points before spells at London Broncos, Bradford Bulls and a brief spell in Australia with Balmain Tigers.

Goldthorpe and Edwards become the 24th and 25th inductees of the Hall of Fame following Malcolm Reilly OBE and Willie Horne’s inductions last year.

RFL Chief Executive Nigel Wood said: “The Rugby League Hall of Fame includes 23 magnificent legends of our sport and the list now includes two more outstanding players.

“In a year where we are celebrating the sport’s 120th anniversary with five of the game’s legends immortalised in the Rugby League Statue at Wembley Stadium, it’s fantastic that those celebrations can be extended with the induction of two worthy inductees into the Hall of Fame.”

Rugby League Cares Chairman Terry Flanagan said: “It’s always an absolute privilege to host a brilliant event that is the Rugby League Hall of Fame Induction dinner.

“Albert Goldthorpe and Shaun Edwards are two very worthy additions to the Hall of Fame and it’s great that we can celebrate their careers in this way.”

The Rugby League Hall of Fame was established in 1988 to commemorate the greatest ever players in British Rugby League. The inductions of Albert Goldthorpe and Shaun Edwards takes the total number of players in the Hall of Fame to 25.