Five-try hero and Lance Todd Trophy winner Tom Briscoe will return to Wembley Stadium on Thursday January 7 to conduct the first round draw of the 2016 Ladbrokes Challenge Cup from 1.00pm.

Briscoe’s record-breaking efforts in the capital last August helped Leeds Rhinos overcome Hull Kingston Rovers 50 – 0, which was also the biggest winning margin since the competition’s inception in 1897.

Joining the Rhinos winger will be Lizzie Jones. Lizzie, the wife of former Keighley Cougars and Wales international Danny Jones, is a professional singer who sang Abide With Me prior to last year’s Challenge Cup final to thank the Rugby League family for their heartfelt support since her husband’s tragic death in May.

Thirty-six sides will go into the famous velvet bag to participate in one of the country’s oldest tournaments and will form the first two rounds of the 2016 Ladbrokes Challenge Cup, which will be played on January 30 – 31 and February 13 – 14.

Nine winning teams progressing from the second round will face teams from Kingstone Press League 1 in the third round (February 27-28). Kingstone Press Championship sides enter at the fourth round stage (March 19-20). The bottom four clubs in the 2015 First Utility Super League season enter in the fifth (April 16-17) with the top eight Super League teams in 2015 joining the competition in the sixth round (May 7-8).

Teams involved in the competition are all aiming for one thing, the opportunity to play at the UK’s most iconic venue, Wembley Stadium on Saturday August 27 – 80,140 supporters witnessed the 2015 final which was also broadcast around the globe via BBC Sport.

2016 Ladbrokes Challenge Cup first round draw numbers:

1.Aberdeen Warriors
2.Blue Bulls
4.East Leeds
5.Egremont Rangers
6.Featherstone Lions
7.Great Britain Police Rugby League
8.Hull Dockers
9.Hull University
10.Hunslet Club Parkside
12.Leigh Miners Rangers
13.Lock Lane
14.London Chargers RL
16.Normanton Knights
17.Northumbria University
18.Nottingham Outlaws
19.Oulton Raiders
20.Pilkington Recs
21.Rochdale Mayfield
22.Royal Air Force
23.Royal Navy
24.Sharlston Rovers
25.Shaw Cross Sharks
28.Thatto Heath Crusaders
29.The Army
30.Thornhill Trojans
31.Underbank Rangers
32.Wath Brow Hornets
33.West Bowling
34.West Hull
35.Widnes West Bank
36.York Acorn

First round ties will be played over the weekend of January 30 – 31.

The early bird ticket offer for the Ladbrokes Challenge Cup final ends on Thursday December 31 with adult tickets starting from as little as £20 and concessions from £10.

Tickets for the 2016 Ladbrokes Challenge Cup final at Wembley Stadium on Saturday August 27 can be purchased by calling the RFL Ticket Office on 0844 856 1113 or by visiting