Rugby League fans are invited to join leading figures from the sport at a special ceremony on the eve of the 2015 Ladbrokes Challenge Cup final to pay respects to the Armed Forces personnel who have made the supreme sacrifice for their country.

At 11.00am on Friday August 28, six wreaths will be laid at the Cenotaph on Whitehall in London by representatives from the Armed Forces, the RFL, the Parliamentary Rugby League Group and Ladbrokes Challenge Cup finalists Hull Kingston Rovers and Leeds Rhinos. The wreath-laying ceremony will be followed by a two-minute silence.

Pictured Armed Forces Rugby League Squad after State of Mind session
State of MInd 401 GBAFRL
RFL Chairman Brian Barwick, who will represent the governing body, said: “I was privileged to lay a wreath at the Cenotaph on behalf of the RFL on the eve of the Challenge Cup final last year in recognition of the debt we owe the brave men and women who have given their lives for their country.

“It was a very moving experience and one that I am pleased is to be repeated again this year.‎ We can never say thank you enough and I hope as many Rugby League fans as possible can take time out to join us at this important ceremony.”

Sir Stuart Peach, the Vice Chief of Defence Staff and President of Great Britain Armed Forces Rugby League, will be joined by Damian Clayton MBE, the head coach of the GBAFRL, as well as Denise Edgar from the British Legion and Greg Mulholland, the chairman of the Parliamentary Rugby League Group.

Hull KR’s representatives will include Chief Executive Mike Smith and club captain Terry Campese whilst Leeds Rhinos will be represented by Chief Executive Gary Hetherington and players Jamie Jones-Buchanan and Liam Sutcliffe.