The competition has enjoyed an extraordinary year in the region, with participation increasing by 10 per cent

The 2016/17 London and South East Boys Champion Schools competition will see the finals held at London Skolars New River Stadium on Tuesday, January 17.

Admission will be free to the day, which will see five finals take place from 11am, with the final game kicking off at 4pm.
Champion Schools
Out of the ten finalists, there are eight schools from eight different local competitions, who will take their place to see who is crowned the champion school in the region for their age group.

Meanwhile, Howard of Effingham’s Year 11 side will be going for their fourth-successive title, while Oxfordshire’s Bartholomew School take their place in their first finals appearance. “It really shows the depth and spread of the competition and highlights the astounding work our local coordinators do year on year,” said London and South East Education Officer, Stephen Guan.

Champion Schools is the world’s biggest Rugby League knockout competition

Year 10 Winners Howard Effingham (15/16) London Skolars General Manager Jac Davies added: “We’re delighted that the RFL have decided to bring the regional schools final to the New River Stadium, the home of London Skolars, having previously held the event at Saracens’ Allianz Park. “For those in need of a Rugby League fix, or wanting to get in the mood for the new season, it’s the perfect opportunity to get down to New River and get behind the next generation of players.”

The competition has enjoyed an extraordinary year in the region, with participation increasing by 10 per cent (from 184 to 204 teams taking part) and no repeated match ups from the 2015/16 finals.

Entry to the finals will be free and the clubhouse will be open for refreshments throughout the day.

The first game kicks off at 11am, with the final match scheduled to get underway at 4.00pm. Date Tuesday 17th January 2017 Venue New River Stadium (London Skolars) White Hart Lane, Wood Green, London, N22 5QW

Admission Free Gates Open 10:30am Fixtures Year 7 St John Fisher (Croydon, Surrey) v RGS High Wycombe (High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire) or Finborough School (Stowmarket, Suffolk) Kick off: 11:00 Year 9 Verulam School (St Albans, Hertfordshire) v Hinchley Wood (Esher, Surrey) Kick off: 12:05 Year 10 Bartholomew School (Witney, Oxfordshire) v Hinchley Wood (Esher, Surrey) Kick off: 13:20 Year 8 Howard of Effingham (Effingham, Surrey) v All Saints School (Barking and Dagenham, London) Kick off: 14:45 Year 11 Howard of Effingham (Effingham, Surrey) v JFK (Hemel, Hertfordshire) Kick off: 16:00